XS Band

                XS Band is an American Latin Band based out of Phoenix, AZ. The Arizona quintet formed in 2008, when guitarist/vocalist, Benny “The Jet” Rodriguez, collaborated with first cousin, Bob “Mr. Las Vegas” Islas. The dynamic duo recruited the female accordion sensation, vocalist, and sister, Christina  “Reina de Accordion” Islas; Along with skilled bassist, Orlando “Skywalker” Rodriguez.  Early in 2009, the group signed a record deal with the Arizona based recording label, Zona Mex Digital Records. 

                XS Band's debut album release, The Next Step (2009), propelled the group to new heights by establishing an underground audience of loyal fans. XS Band garnered national recognition by performing at The Tejano Music Awards Fan Fair in San Antonio, TX during March 2010. The group would then be nominated for several Tejano Music Awards in the "Best NEW Artist/Group" categories, and make the return trip to San Antonio for the awards ceremony in October 2010.

                Beginning of November 2010, original drummer/lifetime musician and relative, Michael Cano, retires from the group to pursue new life ventures with his family. The band added energetic session skinsman, Lorenzo “Mayhem” Rodriguez to join the group for remaining tour dates. Shortly after in January 2011, XS Band enthroned Mayhem on the drums as a full-time member. 

                 The next two follow up album releases titled Tiempos Alegres (2011), and Celebrando la Vida (2013), are consisting of a mast majority of new original Latin-music; therefore qualifying The XS Band for Latin Grammy eligibility.

                Immerse efforts to evolve in an immensely adapting music-industry, The XS Band has been the forefront of innovation for American-Latin musical acts. Through a monumental leap to proceed furtherance of their live performances, in 2014 the group added a sixth full-time member; dance/Latin-percussionist extraordinaire, Vicente "The Professor" Rodriguez.

               "Muevete Conmigo" (2015)

               "Soy Libre" (2017)


© 2018 by Zona Mex Digital Records.  Proudly created with RodriguezX.com